Tags

, , , , , ,

This post, and a lot of future posts owes a debt of gratitude to @acrystelle who’s latest blog post made me look at an online course called Connectivism and Connective Knowledge 2011. (#CCK11)

Posted to Flickr by Mark Brannan under a CC licence

So what is connectivism and what does it have to do with me.

Truthfully I have no idea- (which is why I am taking this course).  As I understand it now, before starting- it is a way of learning which incorporates the changing world of technology.  It looks at the impact technology has had on the way people learn, and therefore teach.

In the overview to Week 1, George Siemens and Stephen Downes (the course facilitators) write:

 

At its heart, connectivism is the thesis that knowledge is distributed across a network of connections, and therefore that learning co

nsists of the ability toconstruct and traverse those networks. It shares with some other theories a core proposition, that knowledge is not acquired, as though it were a thing. Knowledge is, on this theory, literally the set of connections formed by actions and experience.

This speaks to me as earlier in my various degrees I was interested in Knowledge Management- though through the interactions of it with Hypertext (yep internet circa 2000).

Whilst studying KM I looked at the types of knowledge that is gathered (tacit, explicit) but I didn’t explore much on where that knowledge came from, and by that I don’t mean the person- more the pathways it took to reach the recipient person or system.  I think this course may look at that side of things and how it can influence learning behaviours, especially when a lot of our work, and even our personal interaction is done via technology.

So what do I hope to get out of this course.

  • An understanding of the topic
  • An ability to apply that understanding to a teaching situation
  • An expanded PLN
  • A renewed enthusiasm for study (and scholarly reading)

Will I succeed- only time will tell.

