Tags

, , , , ,

I like lemons, actually I love lemons.  I love the tartness, the zing they add to food, water, anything really.

So when the second theme of the cookbook challenge was announced I was one happy girl.

Then I thought about it.  I have 3 dessert recipes that I make over and over again.  Lemon Curd (which I gave in jars for christmas) and Lemon Delicious Pudding, from Stephanie Alexander’s The Cooks Companion aka ‘The Bible” and an easy lemon cake of my mothers. But I wanted to try something new.  Something different.  Something non-fattening, something for a main meal.

Enter the latest Delicious cookbook More Please, and from it Lemon Chicken and Artichoke Pasta.

(Note: I have halved the recipe which originally serves four.)
(Another Note: I am not big on eating pasta at the moment, so substituted couscous instead.)

Lemon Chicken and Artichoke Pasta Couscous

1/2 tbs olive oil.  (the recipe calls for oil and 1 clove garlic, thinly sliced but I used garlic olive oil instead)

1 Chicken Breast fillet, thinly sliced.

150g marinated chargrilled artichokes, drained, sliced (again oops I thought I had artichokes, but didn’t so used marinated eggplant strips instead).

1/2 long red chilli, seeds removed, finely chopped (again I cheated and used 1/4 teaspoon chilli in a jar).

Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon

1 cup rocket (oops forgot that bit, stirred parsley through sauce instead).

My additions Couscous for 1, made with stock not plain water.

Olives (handful pitted black)


Method

Heat oil over medium-high heat.  Cook chicken for 2-3 minutes on each side, till golden (in batches).

Return to the pan with the artichokes (eggplant in my case), olives, chilli, (garlic), lemon zest and lemon juice, then cover and cook over low heat for 5-6 minutes, stirring from time to time until chicken is cooked through.

Meanwhile make the couscous.

Stir the parsley through the sauce, then season then add the rocket (or not as I forgot it), and toss until just wilted.

Serve over the pasta (or couscous).

Enjoy.

 

So how did it taste?  Nice and very lemony!  Slightly healthier than adding it to pasta.  Had I remembered the rocket, and the artichokes that would of made a difference, but I cleaned the plate so that is always a good sign.

Would I make it again?  Yes, Yes and Yes; it was quick, easy and Yummy.  It was easy and I even have dinner for tomorrow night.

