Tags

,

Tonight I went to the Arts Centre to see the Australian Ballet Company perform Elegy. It was described as a meditation on Bach, beauty and the great beyond, and did not disappoint.

The first act was a performance of Requiem which featured the Victorian Opera and soloists singing live to Gabriel Faure’s choral/orchestral music, Requiem Op 48 on the stage with the dancers; it was both haunting and magical in turn.

Photo from Behind Ballet Blog

The second act was called Beyond Bach and the exquisite choreography was performed in perfect syncronicity to Bach’s music, showing off the ability of the dancers, and allowing some of the younger corps de ballet to share the limelight with the principals.

photo from the Herald Sun Website

It was a wonderful evening, and reminded me of why I wanted to be a dancer when I was younger, and how much I still love watching the ballet (and occasionally dancing as well).