Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Steampunk Beholder Miniature Robot Sculpture by Daniel Proulx on Flickr via CC License.

Steampunk Beholder Miniature Robot Sculpture by Daniel Proulx on Flickr via CC License.

I see dead people – I mean I hear voices – ok well you know what I mean.

This weeks subject caused my internal ‘voices’ to have a long dialogue between themselves. They were torn between writing something very personal and confronting or playing it safe and writing about how I am going to use my blog ‘voice’ this year. In the end the latter of the two topics won out, mainly because I am not ready to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and face that confronting demon just yet – maybe one day but not now.

So.. this blog… The Foodie Librarian… neglected and unloved like a 1980’s cookbook. This year I am planning its revival. It will have weekly posts, hopefully even more than one per week. It will have a mish-mash of topics, discussions, pictures and tweets. The question is how. I have 5 ideas and hopefully using them all in one form or another or at one time or another will help this blog back from the brink of death.

This is Radio Nowhere by Thomas Lieser on Flickr via CC License

This is Radio Nowhere by Thomas Lieser on Flickr via CC License

Idea Number 1: The @52blogs challenge. This is already in play with this post being for week 2.

Idea Number 2: Get back into cooking (and blogging about it). One of my New Years resolutions was to get healthier and eat better – which in turn means getting back into cooking. These do not always go hand in hand, I mean who doesn’t love chocolate, sugar and carbs!

I received a copy of Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals for my birthday last year so like @jobeaz I am going to attempt some of his recipes (only halving the amounts). I am also going to go through all the recipes I have cut out of magazines and newspapers (and chuck out a lot of those); all the recipes I have taken photos of out of books; go through all the recipes I have on Paprika, pinned on Pinterest and have starred in my Google Reader and all the cookbooks I own and ACTUALLY cook some of them. I may even attempt to review a few restaurants (but let’s not get too ambitious.)

Idea Number 3: My Google Reader. It has posts ‘starred’ from way back in 2009. I have tried to do a clean out previously (here and here) but got stuck halfway through 2010 and there are still way too many. My plan with these is to go through them, delete the obsolete technology ones, add the recipe ones to Paprika (or Evernote Food), place the knitting patterns into my Ravelry queue and well then do something with them. Last year during Blog Every Day Of June I placed interesting links I had found that day onto the end of my posts (most days). It was a good way to share, highlight and save some of the posts I read each day. This year I thought I may attempt a weekly version of that – a sort of highlights package. Hopefully it will make me think more about what I ‘star’, cook those recipes I favourite and make some of the crafty things I like.

Which brings me to…

Idea Number 4: Blog my crafty endeavours. My first ever blog was set up to do just that, record and share what I had knitted, but it fell by the wayside when Ravelry came along. Similar to Idea Number 2, here I shall go though those ‘starred’ DIY posts and Pinterest pins; and attempt them, as well as sharing WIP’s (works in progress) and FO’s (finished objects) from my main crafty love – Knitting and my other crafty love – cross stitch.

Idea Number 5: Lifelong learning. As a librarian I have been known to wax lyrically on the benefits of lifelong learning, continuing education and professional development, so what type of person would I be if I didn’t practice what I preach. So in a fit of over-exuberance I signed up not just for one course, but 3 (and they are all on in late Jan/Feb) will I NEVER learn! So I bring you 2 MOOCs (Massive Open Online Course) and a Google. If you would like to sign up for any of these as well they are linked to the sign up pages.

The first one I signed up for is purely for my interest, it has no connection to my work at all. I have always loved history so the MOOC – The Modern World: Global History Since 1760 appealed to me. It is being run on the Coursera platform. The 2nd MOOC I signed up for is also run on this platform. It has more relevance to my work but is not a librarian course in the traditional sense. It is called E-Learning and Digital Cultures, and is about how ways in which learning and digital cultures online intersect.

The last ‘course’ I have signed up for is the class being run by Google called Advanced Power Searching with Google. Having missed last years’ Power Searching course, I am interested to see what search tips and tricks I can pick up from this to use at work. Sadly, even in Academia, students will use Google rather than the $$$ databases we provide them (or even Google Scholar) so any way we can get them to use Google more efficiently and effectively are always welcome – especially when it comes from the source.

So there you have it, my 5 ideas for getting my blogging ‘voice’ back. Will they work? I guess there is only one way to find out….

Mr. Magoo in Hi-Fi by Kevin Dooley on Flickr via CC License

Mr. Magoo in Hi-Fi by Kevin Dooley on Flickr via CC License

